Student Affairs and Enrollment Management

Marauder Leadership and Engagement


Student Government Association

There are a variety of student organizations that reflect the diverse interests of the campus. There are many opportunities for all students interested in expanding their social, professional and academic development.

Currently, there are approximately 30 student organizations operating on campus. These student organizations are classified under six categories: Academic, Business, Special Interest, Religions, Honorary and Greek letter organizations. The Office of Student Life and Development in conjunction with the Student Government Associations Inter-Organization Committee monitors the recognized student organizations activities.

The Student Government Association (SGA) represents the student body by serving as the liaison between the students and the administration. The SGA, faculty and staff share the responsibility of making decisions that affect campus life. The SGA has an Executive and Legislative board.

The SGA seeks to maintain a spirit of cooperation in the activities of the University and encourages student initiative through service. The SGA also oversees many student activities and serves as an advisory body in many areas of the University.

The SGA office is located on the 1st floor of the University Student Center inside the Student Life and Development Suite. Responsibilities of the SGA and information concerning student participation in the various phases of self-governance are detailed in the Student Handbook.

SGA is overseen by the Office of Student Life and Development. Students are encouraged to seek membership and actively participate in student organizations at Central State. These student organizations enhance the campus community and provide students with the opportunity to develop responsibility and leadership outside the classroom.

Complete information concerning these student organizations is available in the Student Handbook.

Executive Board

The Executive Branch of the Student Government Association consists of the Student Government Association President, Vice President, Finance Board Chair, Chief Justice, Public Relations Board Chair, Mr. Central State University, Miss Central State University and the Student Trustee(s).

The Executive Board serves as a selective sounding board for the introduction of new policies and programs and serves as a communication network to the Student Government Association. The Executive Board acts in the best interest of the Student Government Association when the Student Government Association is not in session.

2017-2018 Executive Board Members

President: Kristin Johnson -
Vice President: Taylor Chapman -
Personnel Board Chair: Charity Edwards -
Public Relations Chair: Sydney Johnson
Chief Justice: Mark Barton -
Finance Chair: Lawrence Dailey -

Legislative Board

The Legislative Branch of the Student Government Association consists of the Student Senate. The Senate consists of eight student senators. Each senator's duty includes participation in one standing committee of Student Government Association and is required to work on at least three action reports per month, or as issued to them by the Student Government Association President or Vice President.

The Class President serves as an elected representative of their respective classes in the Student Government Association. They communicate the concerns of their class to the Student Government Association. The Class President should act in the best interest of the Student Government Association and the class that they represent.

Student Trustees serve as the Central State University student representative to the University Board of Trustees. Student Trustees are required to make one monthly report to the Student Government Association on Board of Trustee matters.

2017-2018 Legislative Board Members

Service Learning Senator: Jailyn Moore -
Academic Affairs Senator: Ebenie Ford -
Residence Life Senator: Cortney Slocum -
Student Affairs Senator: Emmanuel Dorvil -
Commuter Senator: Ashley Donaldson -
Multicultural Affairs Senator: Roberto Pierre -
Health & Wellness Senator: Cashay Barnett -
IOC Senator: Vacant 
SIAC Senator: Vacant 
NPHC Senator: Vacant

Class Presidents

Senior Class President: Sevonniah Harris -
Junior Class President: Shelbie Osbourne -
Sophomore Class President: Cameron Barnes
Freshman Class President: Vacant

For additional information contact the Office of Student Life and Development at (937) 376-6567 or you can email SGA at